On the Road to Prescott

Moving Truck 1January 16, 2013: the moving truck pulls away from Mount Vernon, WA with all our worldly possessions (most of them anyway!) and we pack what we need for two and a half months interim living before we actually move into our new home in Chino Valley, AZ.

We spend a couple of days in town to tie up loose ends and say good-bye to friends, then on Saturday the 19th we take off in the early morning fog, which lasted until North Bend. We saw sun for awhile but then were back in heavy fog through Pendleton, OR, a disappointment because I really would like to have seen the famous rodeo town a little better.

foggy driveThis was my view for 1,400 miles (the back end of a U-haul trailer).

Just as I was laughing at the “Scenic Viewpoint” signs as we climbed Deadman Pass over the Blue Mountains south of Pendleton on I-84, we suddenly broke out into the sun! Yippee! I felt a huge weight lifted and what a gorgeous view!

mts PendletonThe summit is at 4,193 feet

We stopped to rest for the night in Boise, ID, finding a frosty 1 degree temperature! We’re not used to that any more! I wondered what I had done with my longjohns!

After leaving Idaho, we continued south on Highway 93, the infamous road that stretches from Canada through Montana where we used to live, nearly to Mexico (it’s southern terminus is at Wickenburg AZ). Many Montanans used to sport bumper stickers reading “I drive Highway 93; Pray for Me!”

Snowy NV

More snow in Nevada, but as we descend from White Horse Pass (elevation 6,031 feet), the temps get warmer. Much of this countryside reminds me of eastern Montana, where I grew up (minus the mountains).

White River Narrows NV

Going through the White River Narrows–beautiful and fascinating rock formation and petroglyphs. White River Narrows is located approximately 150 miles north of Las Vegas and 90 miles south of Ely Nevada.  It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.

H Jailhouse Ely NVWe spent the next night in Ely, NV and ate at a restaurant called The Jailhouse. Each table was in its own “cell” and the menu items were all named appropriately “Robbers Ribs” and the like.

After leaving Hwy93, we were once again on the Interstate, I-15 which took us to Las Vegas. We stopped there long enough to grab a burger on the run and gas up our vehicles. We were in a hurry to get to our new home! Due to the load in the pickup and the U-haul trailer, my husband was not able to travel as fast as we normally would, especially going uphill. I was following along in my little blue Chevy, with my cat sedated by my side.

Day 1 AZ Lavender sunset

Our first Arizona sunset the evening of Jan. 21 as we approach closer to Prescott.

Published in: on January 28, 2013 at 1:59 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/on-the-road-to-prescott/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great, Heidi. I want to see and hear more. I wish I could go to an area to a nice place and without all my junk. I am finishing up a cold that other choir members got also. God bless you guys always. No snakes or scorpians though, ha ha!!! Nor too hot.
    ml

  2. Thanks, Heidi, for taking me along on your trip and the great report of it. Liked the pics. Wish you both the best. ~Helen


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 632 other followers

