Cowgirl Dreams–Comin’ True

I started creating stories before I could write. The next step was learning letters and suddenly a new world opened up to me. I couldn’t spell very well yet, but I would draw pictures and write comments to go along with them. I’d ask Mom and Dad, “How do you spell …?” until I’m sure they wished I was in school learning that skill.

My parents read to me as a child and I’ve always loved books. I grew up in an isolated community in eastern Montana and when I was five, going on six, we were worried because there was no school near by. I couldn’t wait to learn to read, so my folks bought the pre-primers “Mac and Muff,” and we had our own version of kindergarten homeschool. Fortunately, a family with four children moved into the neighborhood, and we had a school.

I couldn’t get enough reading. The Bookmobile came once a month and I’d stock up, staggering home under a load of up to 30 books–one for each day until it came again! I’d get my schoolwork done early and read Zane Grey, Nancy Drew, and Johanna Spyri’s classic Heidi (of course). And I wrote my own stories. One of my teachers laughingly told me I had a “wild imagination.”

My adult career turned to journalism, and I thought I’d like to write a book “someday.” About 15 years ago, I took some fiction writing classes, and when my husband and I moved to Washington State in 1996, I started writing a book (one that will actually be the third in a series that I’m calling the “Dare to Dream” series.)

Remembering conversations about my grandmother riding steers in rodeos during the 1920s piqued my curiosity. I researched, talked at length with my dad, and in 1999 I started the book, Cowgirl Dreams. Just like my heroine, I had a dream. And just last week I signed a contract to have my first novel published–only ten years after I began writing it. (See my post from Aug. 11)

Dreams do come true!

Published in: on September 1, 2008 at 2:08 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2008/09/01/cowgirl-dreams-comin-true/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great to see your dreams coming true, Heidi. Neat blog. 🙂 Sheri

  2. Heidi,
    Congratulations on your beautiful site and the wonderful interviews with Gail and Jane. I enjoyed reading of these two writer friends and learned more about them through your interview style. Congrats also on your publishing contract.
    Arletta

  3. We are so happy, excited, and proud of our Aunt Heidi! We also can’t wait for the book to come out.

    With love,

    Laura and Zoe


Leave a Reply

