Name Your Characters

We writers often have trouble coming up with names for our characters. We would probably hesitate to use someone we know well, for fear they would think we’re writing about them. So, sometimes I reach for the phone book or I see a name in a newspaper or magazine article I like.

I recently came across a blog called Nameisms with a post about “Western names for Cowboys and Cowgirls.” It’s interesting to see how many are named after popular country singers. I remember a boy named Cotton in our county when I was growing up. Levi was a popular name. And I’ve seen quite a few kids named after western towns–Austin, Dallas, Cody, and even some named after mountain ranges–Sierra, Rincon.

This blog also has articles on Pioneer baby names from the 1880s, Vintage baby names from the 1920s,  Holiday baby names, fashion designer names, Olympic swimmers, musical names, names from Gimore Girls.

Names are fascinating. Studies say many of us develop personalities or lifestyle relating to our name.

Published in: on February 12, 2009 at 7:20 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2009/02/12/name-your-characters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There is even a website that will teach you how to name Sci-Fi characters.i

  2. Interesting article about names. I have several sites that I go to when I’m looking for names with the right meanings. Social Security admin is one of them. It’s always interesting coming up with new names!

  3. I enjoy trying to come up with the perfect name for my characters so thanks for the link.

    Jane Kennedy Sutton
    http://janekennedysutton.blogspot.com/
    https://twitter.com/janesutton/

  4. Thanks so much for mentioning my blog! I’m glad it’s provided a good source of information. Keep up the good work and writing!

    ~Laura

  5. names, I just use what comes into my head.

  6. Heidi,

    A great article about names. With my historicals, I select names from the genealogy that I work on since the times range from 1790 to 1920. What a selection.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Gwyn Ramsey
    http://gwynramsey.blogspot.com

  7. I don’t write cowboy novels, but I dated a guy in college named Pecos. I thought it was a hawt name!


Leave a Reply

