Author Interview: BUFFALOed

fairlee-winfield1My interview with Fairlee Winfield, author of BUFFALOed, continues today. View a trailer on Fairlee’s blog. The book can be purchased through Amazon.

Is this your first novel?

I wish I could say yes, but I’ll come clean.

Many years ago I wrote a fantastic romance novel set on the Navajo Indian Nation here in Arizona. It was all about the love affair of a liberated woman anthropologist and a handsome Navajo Nation police officer with tawny, taut muscles. You’ve got it. Clichés and shades of Tony Hillerman. Two agents loved it, but fortunately it was never published. I’m not a romance writer.

How long did it take you?

For BUFFALOed . . . It’s hard to set a real time. I had been thinking about the book for years. Off and on I’d write a chapter. I once thought it should be written as a screen play, but until I retired from Northern Arizona University, I only had time to write academic materials that allowed me to become a full professor.

What else have you written?

Lots and lots of academic stuff. Probably over fifty academic journal articles. My two major books are:

Commuter Marriage: Living Together, Apart, Columbia University Press, New York. Trade book with foreign rights sold twice in Japan. Cited as Contemporary Affairs Notable Book of the Year by the Philadelphia Inquirer and nominated for the American Association of Personnel Administrators book award.

The Work and Family Sourcebook, Panel Publishing Inc., New York.

Have you always aspired to be a writer?buffaloed-cover2

I’ve always loved writing. I won a prize in Junior High School for a comic essay. I won a prize from the Embassy of Argentina for an exposition of their epic poem, Martín Fierro, but until recently I’ve done non-fiction.

Which do you like better, writing fiction or non-fiction?

I like both, Heidi. Right now fiction is more fun.

What other authors have influenced you?

Thomas Berger, who I mentioned before. T. Coragessan Boyle, I love the way he brings the colorful, eccentric characters like Kellogg, Kinsey, and Wright to life. Oh, and my favorite, favorite Annie Proulx. There are so many. I like Rudy Wiebe for his Plains Indians things. I love the Norwegians both past and present: Sigrid Undset, Johan Bojer, Ole Rölvaag. Oh, and Wallace Stegner and John Steinbeck. I read constantly.

Are you working on another book?

Two actually. One in well underway: Burma Shave Days and Evangelist Nights. The story of little girl whose family must run from a man with a shotgun during the Great Depression of the 1930’s.

The second is will focus on the story of the Cree Indian, Young Boy. I can’t say more now or I might spoil the BUFFALOed story for readers.

They both sound great! Thank you, Fairlee. It’s always fascinating to learn what makes other writers “tick.”

It was great talking to you Heidi. Your questions have given me several important things to think about. I enjoyed meeting you here in Scottsdale for Festival of the West last month. Have a good tour in Montana and many productive writing days.

Published in: on April 24, 2009 at 12:01 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/author-interview-buffaloed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Heidi – This is an interesting interview. It’s always fun to learn the “whys” of writing. Fairlee Winfield’s Buffalowed sounds like a winner…and it was!

    Mary Trimble

  2. Heidi,
    Enjoyed your interview with Fairlee. Loved her book, Buffaloed. I met Fairlee at the conference in San Antonio. She’s a neat gal and her story of Charley Russell really interested me since I’m originally from Montana and have always loved Russell’s work. When we’re in Helena next month, I’m going to take a look at that painting, not that I’ll be able to tell if it’s his or not. 🙂 I’ve seen the trailer on Buffaloed. It’s great and do love that sound track. Eunice

  3. The book sounds very interesting. It’s fun when an author looks at something or someone and says, what if…? Then brings the imagined to life.

  4. Wonderful interview, Fairlee and Heidi. The book sounds fascinating and definitely a good read.

    Jean Henry Mead

  5. Thanks again Heidi. I just read the comments and this is such fun. I’ve also had a dozen or so email comments about the interview. I’m putting something up on my blog today.

    Fairlee
    Author of BUFFALOed

  6. Great title and cover! Wish we still had buffalo nickels.

    Morgan Mandel
    http://morganmandel.blogspot.com

  7. What a great interview! It was really nice getting to know Fairlee and her works.

    Alice


Leave a Reply

