Review: 600 Hours of Edward

I have to admit I began reading 600 Hours of Edward with a bit of trepidation. This is fellow Montanan, journalist and friend, Craig Lancaster’s first novel and I wanted to like it. But, I wondered, 278 pages about a man with Asperger’s syndrome who obsessively-compulsively records the exact minute he awakes each morning? Someone who eats the same thing for lunch every day, drives to the grocery store every Tuesday, and makes only right-hand turns?

Well, I fell in love with Edward.

Rather than a comedic sketch of a person with mental illness, Craig created an endearing character who faces many of the same life questions and obstacles that the rest of us do: A shaky relationship with his father, a not-so-successful on-line dating experience, and an attempt to better himself through counseling. In the end, he faces a choice: Open his life to experience and deal with the joys and heartaches that come with it, or remain behind his closed door, a solitary soul.

This story is humorous and it is touching. It kept me eagerly turning the pages from the first to the last, and it is a story that stays with me long after I finished. I give 600 Hours of Edward Five Stars and highly recommend it.

If you are curious, as I was, about how Craig developed his character and how much of himself is seen in Edward, read this article on Carol Buchanan’s blog.

Published in: on January 1, 2010 at 11:32 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/review-600-hours-of-edward/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This sounds good! Happy New Year!

  2. Heidi,

    It does sound wonderful. Having had an acting student with Asperger’s, I know it can be a challenge to the afflicted. I will be interested in reading how this person deals with life’s challenges.

    Thank you for making me aware of this work.


Leave a Reply

