Women’s History Month

Because March is officially Women’s History Month, I want to take the opportunity to honor my grandmother, Olive May “Tootsie” Bailey Gasser. She was the inspiration for my novel, Cowgirl Dreams, and most likely contributed genes to my strong, independent spirit.

She was the consummate horsewoman and much preferred to be out riding than in the house pushing a dust mop. The thing about her that inspired the book was the fact that she rode steers in rodeos during the 1920s. I love knowing that about her!

What a legacy our foremothers left us.

Published in: on March 19, 2010 at 6:02 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2010/03/19/womens-history-month/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a great way to honor your grandmother, Heidi. You’ve done a good job in Cowgirl Dreams describing her strength and tenacity. Knowing the book is about a true character makes it even more of a treasure.

  2. I’d love to have met that grandmother of yours, but then I guess I did in “Cowgirl Dreams.” 🙂 She was a winner!

  3. Your book is on my reading list but I may have to move it up so I can meet “Tootsie.” You have accomplished what the theme of Women’s History Month encourages; you have written your grandmother back into history.

  4. Love it! Just want to read more now!
    Lori

  5. One of the things I loved most about COWGIRL DREAMS was that it was inspired by your grandmother. What a wonderful way to honor her!


Leave a Reply

