Christmas Fun

I want to take this opportunity to wish all my followers a very Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and a happy and healthy New Year. I celebrate the birth of Christ and I am thankful for the many blessings I’ve received in my life.

Here are some photos from Christmases, present and past.

This year I did a book signing at the Country Store Farmer’s Co-op and had to have my picture taken with a “cool” Santa.

Every year a group of friends gets together to bake cookies, eat, and exchange our wares. This is a special tradition and special friends. It reminds me of our family tradition on the ranch of making sugar cookies and everyone sitting at the kitchen table to decorate them.

We don’t always have snow in the winter here in the Pacific Northwest, but when we do, I am reminded of Christmases in eastern Montana, being snowed in, playing board games, drinking cocoa and eating Christmas goodies. This photo was from winter 2006, when we did have snow for Christmas.

Our families are scattered hither and yon, so we don’t often have company for the holidays. This was from 2005, when Dave’s sister, Marylou, spent Christmas with us. A special holiday!

The Catmas Tree.

Jellicle Cat (Jelli) likes to nap on the tree skirt under the tree. Probably waiting to drink the milk left out for Santa!

One of my all-time favorite gifts!

However you celebrate the holiday, my best wishes to you!

Published in: on December 24, 2010 at 11:24 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/christmas-fun/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for sharing your Christmasses with us, Heidi. I enjoyed the pictures.

  2. Heidi,

    What beautiful pictures. So happy your Christmas was lovely. Loved the Catmas Tree. Hubby and I enjoyed our holiday with friends. Now we look forward to the new year. Have a great 2011 and be safe.

  3. Sorry Heidi, I have to agree with Dave’s preferred name for “Jellicle Cat.” That being Ethel, of course, named after Ethel Mermen. I didn’t understand until I watched “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, World” again.

    “Jellicle Cats are black and white,
    “Jellicle Cats are rather small;
    “Jellicle Cats are merry and bright,
    “And pleasant to hear when they caterwaul.”

    TS Eliot
    from “Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats, 1939”

    And, oh my, does Jellicle Cat caterwaul, but she’s a most lovable cat, unlike my Marie, who would just as soon make you bleed profusely rather than say, just simply, “Meow.”

    • LOL, Roger. Thanks for reminding me of Eliot’s poem. My Jelli isn’t small, but she does caterwaul!

      The late Ipsc was more like Marie, especially in his younger years–a quick slash spoke volumes!

      Thanks!


Leave a Reply

