E-Book Week

Read an E-Book Week is March 6-12, 2011.

E-BOOKS TURN 40! That’s right – it’s been forty years since Michael S. Hart created the first “e-book”. For a more in-depth look at the history of e-books please see this web page.

Also check out EPIC, Electronically Published Internet Coalition, established in 1998 to provide a strong voice for electronic publishing. Once an authors’ organization, EPICTM has expanded to include hundreds of professionals from all facets of the electronic publishing industry: authors, publishers, editors, artists, and others. Our members work together in a unique collaboration between authors and publishers to further the industry.

My first novel, Cowgirl Dreams, won an EPIC award. Both Cowgirl Dreams and Follow the Dream are available as e-books at Treble Heart Books and Follow the Dreams is available on Kindle.

How many of you have an e-reader? How many of you have published an e-book? Do you believe e-books are the “wave of the future?”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2011/03/05/e-book-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Heidi, when I realized that I wanted to be published in ebooks, I bought a Kindle. It wasn’t long after that that I was offered a contract with Wild Rose Press, a print and ebook publisher; a couple of weeks later another contract arrived from SynergEbooks, an ebook publisher. Both are rather large, and Wild Rose Press has been judged for three years running as the best ebook publisher in the USA. My books aren’t out yet, but I can’t wait. I know this is the wave of the future and I’m so happy to be involved.

    • Fantastic, Velda! I’m thrilled for you!

  2. I very happily have 3 e-book titles now available on both Kindle and Nook and more to come. And I have a Nook Color e-book reader. Wave of the future? I’d say yes, it’s a big wave but it won’t completely wash away print books, not ever.

  3. My latest, Land of Mountains, is in both print and Kindle (Whoo Doo, Treble Heart) and all of my other books are pring, ebook and audio.
    I love my Kindle! It is, without a doubt, the wave of the future.

  4. BTW, check out the cover for The Texicans (Sundowner, Treble Heart); it is similar to your cover for Follow That Dream, and won best cover from EPIC one year.

  5. Both of my first books, Rosemount and McClellan’s Bluff were first published as e-books in 2000 and 2001. One of the problems at that time was consistant formatting for e-readers. I think demand has helped the e-book cause.

  6. Hi Heidi, my personal opinion is that it is always about quality and the reading itself rather than the delivery mode. I love the feel of a treebook in my hand, and some are so achingly beautiful that they’re pieces of art, but I also love reading and having thousands of books on one small, purse-sized, searchable device is incredible. I love books however they come to me. But I wholeheartedly support Read-an-ebook week and my writing partner Carolyn Howard-Johnson and I are giving away our books for free. Just drop by my blog for details!

  7. E-books have been around for quite some time. Only recently have they begun to pick up with the development of the nook, e-reader, and the Kindle. With the IPad to join them, everything is beginning to look technological and people are afraid that books are now obsolete. Not so. Once all the hype is gone, everything will level off like it always does and people will begin to realize that there is room for both hardcopy and e-books in the lives of all readers. Glad to see that your new book is on Kindle, Heidi. Good luck to you.

    • I sure hope print books are not “going away” any time soon!

  8. I had no idea – I must be working too hard. I’ll offer one of my e-books for free this week also.

    I have 4 e-books. 3 are offered through Buy Buttons on my site, and 1 of those is on Kindle.

    I have to get all of them on Kindle and Nook. Now, just to find the time!

    I’ll look into EPIC also.

    Thanks for sharing

  9. Oh, forgot to add my opinion. I agree e-books are the wave of the future.

  10. My husband gave me a Kindle for our anniversary last fall. It’s great for reading in bed where I do most of my reading for pleasure. But I love books, too. Yes, I do think e-books are the going to overshadow the market, at least for awhile. Hard to believe the first e-book is 40 years old.

    • It is hard to believe they’ve been around that long! Especially since they seem to be “just now” taking off, with the Kindle, iPad, etc.

  11. I have an iPad and love it! Still enjoy a good hardback book, but really getting into this eBook thing.

  12. I have 2 e-books on Smashwords now… but I still don’t have an e-book! 😦 So I will have to buy the “dead tree” version of your second book… soon, I hope! 🙂

    • By all means, Barb! You can order an autographed copy through my website :)I still prefer to read (and sell) paper books. I don’t have an e-reader yet either and printing out pdfs isn’t quite the same as a regular book.

  13. (I meant “I still don’t have an e-book reader”, so I still have to download and print PDFs)…

  14. Great post, Heidi. Ebooks are the future. The payment for authors is higher than for traditional publishers and often ebooks are “discovered” by print publishers. You were ahead of the curve years ago! Great to see Velda and others having success with ebooks. Jane

  15. Yes, I own a Kindle and an iPad and love them both almost as much as I love physical books. Books will be here for a long time to come. One of my novels is out on Kindle, but I’m concerned that it’s overpriced. How do you decide what is the best price to charge if you’re an unknown writer?

    • Fortunately, my publisher made the decision for mine. I suppose you’ll have to do some research on other novels that are similar to yours and find out what they’re charging. Anybody else have any ideas?

  16. I love the feel of books! As a former elementary teacher the pictures added so much to the story that I can’t imagine reading one without seeing the pictures.
    Now I teach high school and I still love a physical book. It is much easier to take notes, look at footnotes and go back and read a check on something. But having said that I do have a Kindle that was given to me by a friend. I already had the Kindle for PC and Blackberry(which came in handy when I was sitting in the doctor’s office). I love getting free some of the classics which I hadn’t read. It is great also when I travel. I see limitations at the present time with ebooks but I know the technology is always improving.


Leave a Reply

