Banished Words List

I just read a list of “banished words” from Lake Superior State University http://www.lssu.edu/banished/current.php I’m always interested in these lists and how words become overused to the point of gag-reflex.

Their number one word nominated was “Amazing.” I can see that. Everyone being interviewed on TV seems to be limited to that word. Another word that relates to that is “Awesome.” That’s probably been nominated in the past.

Another was “Shared Sacrifice.” “Usually used by a politician who wants other people to share in the sacrifice so he/she doesn’t have to.” Scott Urbanowski, Kentwood, Michigan. I agree.

“Man Cave.” My husband hates that one. Yes, men need their private space (this goes back to John Grey’s Men are From Mars, Women are From Venus), but enough already!

“Ginormous.” I kind of like that one, but I agree, it’s become overused.

One word that has made its way into the dictionary, but will always remain a banned word in my mind is “snuck.” That word reeks of illiteracy to me and is like fingernails on a blackboard.

What are your overused word pet peeves?

Published in: on January 4, 2012 at 9:28 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2012/01/04/banished-words-list/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “Think outside the box” is a phrase I am so tired of hearing. Okay, I know it’s a phrase and not a word. Still…

    • I agree. It was great the first few hundred times we heard it, but then…as with any cliche, it becomes very tired.

  2. I snuck on over here for a moment to catch up on your blog! Love all the great info 🙂


Leave a Reply

