God, Am I Nobody?

Thank you for guest-posting on my blog today, Sheryl.

by Sheryl Young

God, Am I Nobody? is subtitled: Yielding Our Desire for Success to God’s Will for Our Lives. It is a convenient, carry-anywhere 17-day devotional — or 17 chapters, reading at one’s own pace. It deals with how Christians might be conflicted between wanting “success” as the world defines it, or following God’s plan for their lives. It addresses two big questions:

  1. Why does God use some people in the spotlight, and others in the shadows?
  2. Why does it sometimes feel like we’re not being used at all, or we’re getting nowhere?!

Each chapter/day includes segments of 19th-century missionary Hudson Taylor’s sermonette, A Higher Calling, along with parallel Bible verses and thoughts for everyday application. It’s a great little book for Christians burning out on their ministries, stay-at-home moms wondering “is this all there is” or who are often confronted by their working friends on the issues of “success,” empty nesters wondering what to do next for God, and even teens and young adults who are planning their careers.

What led you to write God, Am I Nobody?

“I had such a hard time giving all the glory to God when first accepting Jesus as my Savior. Coming out of a theatre background where there were many accolades, I suffered from what I call “attention-itis” – the need for recognition. It took many years before I became conscious of giving all praise to God for my accomplishments…

After writing my first book, I stumbled across Hudson Taylor’s piece and considered it to be a divine appointment. It firmly put me in my place regarding pride, and became one of my inspirations for the book. I simply had to write about what God wants for us and from us. I’m astonished at the feedback I’ve received from other Christians who are struggling with wondering when their ‘15 minutes of fame’ might come, even while trying to do good works for the Lord.”

You can see details and purchase the paperback or e-book here at the publisher’s page; at Amazon.com in paperback or on Kindle; as an e-book at Smashwords.com, or on Barnes & Noble Nook.

More about Sheryl:

She’s known Jesus as her Lord and Savior since 1987, and has been freelance writing from a conservative and biblical perspective since 1997. Her commentaries and feature articles have reached readers through the Tampa Tribune (as a regular contributing editorialist), the St. Pete Times, Florida Baptist Witness Newspaper, Yahoo News online, Christian Post online, VISTA national Sunday School Curriculum and elsewhere. In connection with being a Jewish believer in Jesus, she wrote her previous book, What Every Christian Should Know about the Jewish People, subtitled: Improving the Church’s Relationship with God’s Original Chosen People (still available at publisher or Amazon.com). She was also a Florida Spokesperson for the traditional values organization Concerned Women for America from 2000 to 2005, representing them on local TV and radio. She and her wonderful husband live in Florida.

Published in: on February 17, 2012 at 6:03 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/god-am-i-nobody/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I really enjoyed reading about Sheryl Young and her reason to write God Am I Nobody. I do believe we all question why we are here on earth and what is expected of us. Thank you for this lovely blog.


Leave a Reply

