Bursting into Spring

Spring literally blossoms with metaphors about rebirth, new life, and new beginnings. It is my favorite season and is especially meaningful to me.

One reason is because I grew up on a ranch in eastern Montana and celebrated the release of snowbound winters with warm sunshine, hills rolling with green grass and quilted with wildflowers, and I witnessed the birth of new calves.

Another reason is one I discovered when I moved to Missoula in the western part of the state. Missoula is located in the bottom of a mountain valley and in the winter, it experiences the same type of weather inversions as the LA basin. Because of this, although winters there are more temperate than eastern Montana, it is often cloudy for weeks on end. That is when I discovered that I suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder (S.A.D.)

Now I live in the Pacific Northwest, where it is more often cloudy and rainy all winter than not. In spring, I feel like the tulip that flourishes here, reawakening after a long winter’s hibernation.

Like a Tulip

Like a tulip, I awaken

Reaching up toward the warmth

Straightening my curled-in body

Pushing away the heaviness of the winter soil

Like a tulip, I awaken

Stretching my arms to the sun

My eyes open as the petals

Squinting at first, then opening wide

Like a tulip, I awaken

Hearing the buzzing of the bees

Sensing the grass grow

Feeling the earthworms move

I am the tulip, as I awaken

Reveling in the sunshine

Embracing its glow, its warmth

I am the tulip, as I blossom in the spring

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2012/05/16/bursting-into-spring/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Spring is a wonderful time of year. I’m always amazed when bare trees suddenly are bright green with leaves. Our rhodies are wonderful this year, too. Rhododendrons are Washington’s State flower and seem to thrive in our cooler weather.

  2. A lovely poem and sentiment, Heidi. I love the changes that spring and autumn bring us.

  3. Heidi, I can identify with you. I’ve just come back from a trip to sunny Texas to return to drizzling weather in Vancouver. The up-side is that there’s a lot more greenery here and our backyard is awash with colours at this time. But yes, there’s a price and I do miss the sun. Blessings to you.


Leave a Reply

