A Montana Book and Research Tour

I recently returned to my native state of Montana for a mini book and research tour–another enjoyable “Thelma and Louise” trip with my sister-in-law. I always love traveling through Big Sky Country.Hittin’ the open road.

Flathead Lake at Lakeside, MT.

One day it was 73 degrees and the next… Only in Montana!

My research led me to a stop in Ovando, MT at Trixi’s Antler Saloon and at a museum dedicated to the 1940s world-renowned trick rider.

Not only did she do tricks on horseback…

But when the stage was too small, she twirled her ropes while riding a unicycle!

Another stop took me to a museum dedicated to World Champion Bronc Rider Fannie Sperry Steele.

Fannie’s “dress” chaps, made of calfskin and still in pristine condition.

Fannie Sperry Steele’s house on the ranch at Gates of the Mountains near Helena, MT

My tour ended in Missoula at the Montana Festival of the Book, where I helped work the Women Writing the West table with Beth Hodder and Pam Tartaglio.

What a fun trip. And now I’m off to Albuquerque, NM for the WWW conference!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2012/10/17/a-montana-book-and-research-tour/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like a great book tour! Thanks for sharing. I’ll take my 2013 trip from Tampa to Pomona, California in January after my 5th Beloved Horses book is released. Love long book tours!

  2. Book tours can be fun as well as tiring! But it’s especially fun to travel through “old stompin’ grounds.” Good luck with your new book and tour!

  3. I just had my own road tour – six states in five days! Yikes. You do see a lot more than just zipping through the air and landing, that’s for sure. I just wish it didn’t burn up so much gasoline. Isn’t it fun to visit these places and see the living places and artifacts up close?

  4. What a fun time you must have had! Love those great pictures!

    Morgan Mandel
    http://www.facebook.com/morgansbooks

  5. Thanks, Morgan and Dani. Wow, 6 states in 5 days–you must be tired. It took me a week to recover! Must not be as young as I used to be 🙂


Leave a Reply

