Western Music, Books, Poetry and Cancer

This past weekend I participated in the Silver Spur Western Gathering in Spokane, WA. This was a fundraiser for “Because There is Hope,” a nonprofit organization providing support and lodging for out of town cancer patients. It was founded by Melody Biehl, a breast cancer survivor, and funds go toward purchasing a permanent location, which will be called “Faye’s House,” for a friend who lost her battle with cancer.

The gathering was organized by Melody and Spokane author Dawn Nelson and featured numerous vendors with beautiful jewelry, saddle-makers, western clothing. On stage throughout the day were performances by cowboy poets Dave McClure, Susie Knight, Michael Whitaker and Alan Halvorson of Rockin HW, and Western singers: Almeda Bradshaw from Montana, Susie Knight, Nevada Slim and Cimarron Sue, Cale Moon and Mary Kaye Naphus. In addition, we enjoyed a concert on Friday and Saturday nights.

I have a new favorite Western singer/songwriter to join Juni Fisher and Joni Harms on my Top Ten list: Mary Kaye, Academy of Western Artist’s 2011 Western Female Performer of the Year. She has a beautiful, clear-toned voice that I could listen to all day.

Another up-and-coming young artist I was privileged to hear was 17-year-old country/gospel singer/songwriter Cale Moon. He has a rich, deep voice reminiscent of Scotty McCreery, 2011 American Idol Winner and has written more than 100 songs.

I joined a wonderful group of authors, all hawking our wares, and sharing our stories as Spokane’s educational TV channel taped our readings. I will post the link when the show airs.

Although it was not a successful book sales event, I enjoyed meeting many good people, hearing some great music and fun cowboy poetry, and visiting with my sister-in-law. It was a fun weekend.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/western-music-books-poetry-and-cancer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like fun! Our youngest daughter went through a Country-Western phase that made me very happy, since I LOVE cowboy music. I would have been in hog heaven at your event. Wish I could have been there. 🙂

    Marian Allen
    Fantasies, mysteries, comedies, recipes

  2. I love country music myself. As far as book signings are concerned, these days it’s best to bring cards with information for ebooks as well. From my own experience, I’ve only been using my kindle lately.

    Morgan Mandel
    http://morganmandel.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

