The Road Between Two Skies

“I have two names…Brenniss and Maggie…”

Because of a bizarre abduction, Brenniss’ promising future is shattered. Her memory loss requires rediscovery of herself as Maggie in an unfamiliar world. She recalls only pieces of who she was embedded in tragic events, while new friends support her self-acceptance as the survivor she is. Only by saying goodbye can reconcile her past and present.

***

Linda, congratulations on your debut novel, The Road Between Two Skies. Tell us what inspired you to write this story.

This book flowed out of me once I wrote “I have two names…Brenniss and Maggie.” I’ve been fascinated with persons who disappear from a normal life and relationships, only to be discovered months or years later, with no recall of this previous life, living an equally “normal” life with perhaps a new spouse and different job. I wanted to present a story of resilience, of survival and the insight to discover that new path.

What was your experience in writing this book? Was it a difficult subject to write about?

I was compelled by the characters and how they interacted, as well as reacted, to the circumstances of the story. How would a widower respond to an unknown woman who had been battered: a man who watched his wife die, now watching a woman fighting to live? How does a sheriff manage an investigation of a crime of which he has few clues and fewer resources? How does Brenniss/Maggie make sense of her situation with no memory to cue her?

I incorporated my own professional knowledge as a Speech/Language Pathologist: memory loss, language, sentence structure, concepts, and verbal expression. 

Your characters are so well-drawn. How did they develop? Did you have them formed in your mind before you started, or did they grow on their own as you wrote?

I pictured each character and their reactions in various settings as I “cooked” the ideas, months before I set pen to paper. They continued to add layers to their personalities as I rewrote portions, as well. I figured if I didn’t believe the characters, a reader wouldn’t either.

Tell us a bit about your writing process—do you do a lot of research? Are you an outliner or a “pantser”?

I’m afraid I’m a “pantser,” getting the story line down, first, then developing the characters and dialogue. But as I needed believable details, I did do extensive research. I use outlines, but more for facts. To me, an outline isn’t dynamic enough for something like a novel. The story lines may change or modify from the original outline.

Do you have a time set aside for writing? Did you do a lot of rewriting on this book? When I write more spontaneously, I get so absorbed in the characters and dialogue, 4, maybe 6 hours pass, and I don’t realize it. I still need to revise, but I have a more intense awareness of the characters when I return to the chapters.

What is your writing background? I did my share of writing bad poetry in junior high and high school; I wrote songs from high school to the present day (I wrote a song which the fictional Bonnie Meacham sings which is imbedded in The Road Between Two Skies). I even wrote a musical. It seems that writing was for my own expression. But my first real success was getting a poem published in a publication in Spokane, WA, then a local poetry contest; I considered that luck more than talent. But this book, started as a hobby, was something I became increasingly serious about. That led me to take the plunge toward its publication.

What would you say the theme or “take away” is from the book? We all have difficult losses to face: losing a pet, a job, a spouse, a child, your grandmother’s locket, a home. Each loss requires us to lose a part of ourselves. To define ourselves again we need to create a more encompassing identity. That journey is what Brenniss/Maggie is about. The only way she heals is by accepting the changes in her as her new foundation. Defining ourselves only by our defeats doesn’t allow us to grow.

What was your experience in finding a publisher for your book? For about 6 years, I sat on my duff and talked myself out of ever doing anything with this book because I felt hindered by my own skill level and the lack of an agent in a small town or rural area. Previously cautious about self-publishing, I started reading encouraging information about reliable self-publishing/hybrid publishing companies. Atmosphere Press was endorsed by Writers Digest, so I contacted them for an interview and within a few weeks, I had a contract and started the process. Atmosphere was terrific to work with due to their dynamic and knowledgeable staff. They were with me through the whole rewrite process, and now in support of my marketing.

Is there a specific part of the writing process that you find to be the easiest or most difficult for you? Everybody gets a writing block and mine usually occur about ¾ of the way through the book. I know how I want the story to end, but I can’t seem to connect where I am to that end. So, I played a little with point of view. It broke my block, because I could see a larger picture that didn’t repeat former information. The most difficult part of writing for me has been to believe in myself.

Where can we find your book? Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble and, of course on my website: Lsfiferauthor.com.

What is next? Many have asked if I have a sequel in mind for The Road Between Two Skies and I don’t. I felt I told the story I wanted to tell in that book, but it is flattering to me that the characters were realistic enough that people want more about them.

My next book is Discovering the Grain. Izzy Stark is on a mission to fix up the house her late husband Dave inherited from his favorite uncle. She needs to heal from her husband’s death from an IED explosion just weeks before his discharge from the Army, as much as the house needs repair.

Links to social media: My website: Lsfiferauthor.com where you will find the first 27 pages of the book as a sample, where you can order the book, contact me or write those valuable reviews that entice future readers. Also: Goodreads.com for connections to other readers who have read my book and where you can also write your own review.

Bio

Linda Fifer grew up in Ohio surrounded by musicians and writers. She graduated from Kent State University with BS and MA degrees in Speech/Language Pathology, although originally started in theatre. She moved west to Montana and has spent several years in north Idaho. She has written a musical, songs and poems, been published locally in newspapers and more recently in Spokane Writes. Now retired after a 44-year career in Speech Pathology, she is inspired to create uplifting stories involving women who discover their strengths despite demanding challenges. Living in the west with her husband and two dogs, Linda is inspired by the nature surrounding her.

Published in: on March 17, 2023 at 6:00 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/2023/03/17/the-road-between-two-skies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hello, Roger
    Thank you for reading about The Road Between Two Skies. I invite you to go onto my website Lsfiferauthor.com to sample the first 27 chapters and to contact me about your interest in The Road. Would welcome your comments and questions!
    Thanks,
    Linda


Leave a comment